Bereavement Drop-in

 
Our Bereavement Support Service

Our Bereavement Support Team is headed up by our Bereavement Service Co-ordinator and is supported by a team of trained volunteers.

Although grief may be painful, it is a normal response to the death of someone close – so we offer a listening and support service, rather than counselling. Expressing feelings, telling and re-telling the story of what has happened and talking about the person who has died can all play a significant part in the healing process. Our trained Bereavement Support Team members are here to listen, and can also help with questions like, ‘Is this normal?’ or ‘am I going crazy?’

We recognise that everyone grieves in their own unique way and we offer support which keeps you in control of your own care. As well as support through the Drop-in, we also offer support which may include telephone calls, one-to-one sessions, or support groups.

We understand that children and young people may grieve differently from adults. We can offer you support resources and advice as you support them, or we can work directly with children and young people if you and they would like this.

What is the Bereavement Drop-in?

The Bereavement Support Drop-in is an informal opportunity for adults who have been bereaved to talk with others with a similar experience. Each Drop-in is staffed by experienced Bereavement Support workers and volunteers. Light refreshments are available.

When does the Drop-in happen, and how long can I stay for?

Each Drop-in session runs from 5pm until 7pm, every other Thursday.

You can arrive at any time during the Drop-in session, and stay for as long or as little as you like.

Drop-in Dates for 2017

Thursday 12th January
Thursday 26th January
Thursday 9th February
Thursday 23rd February
Thursday 9th March
Thursday 23rd March
Thursday 6th April
Thursday 20th April
Thursday 4th May
Thursday 18th May
Thursday 1st June
Thursday 15th June
Thursday 29th June
Thursday 13th July
Thursday 27th July
Thursday 10th August
Thursday 24th August
Thursday 7th September
Thursday 21st September
Thursday 5th October
Thursday 19th October
Thursday 2nd November
Thursday 16th November
Thursday 30th November
Thursday 14th December

How many times can I attend?

We hope the support you receive through the Drop-in will be helpful to you for as long as you need it. Our experienced Support Workers will review the continuing support we offer to you, as appropriate.

The service is FREE

It is very important to us that the Drop-in is accessible and open to all who have been bereaved and we hope that offering a service that is free and delivered from a convenient local venue will help us achieve this.

If you’d like more information, or to talk further about the support we may be able to offer, please call 01904 708553.

I am a patient

Bereavement Care